2016 · tbr

Summer TBR

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

As I sit here in this abysmal heat, I couldn’t help but realize that the month of July is nearly over, and August is just around the corner.

With all the reading plans I made I cannot believe that half of my summer is already over and I barely touched any of the books I planned on getting to.

But nevertheless, here are six books that I definitely want to get to by summer’s end. Some of these I know I’m definitely going to get to, as for the others, we’ll just have to wait and see.

Night by Elie Wiesel


This book is definitely one on my list I know I’ll complete by the end of summer.  Not only is this Nobel Prize winning book my current read, it is also my required reading for English. Night is a nonfiction account of the author, Elie Wiesel and his father’s time in the Auschwitz and Buchenwald concentration camp during the height of the Holocaust. I already know this is going to be a haunting and important story that I’ll remember for days to come.

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

A rare cute contemporary actually ended up in my tbr. I know shocker. This is also my current read, though I am not that far into this novel. Not only is this the botm for my book club, but everything about this screams summer vibes, so I just had to get to it.

I have seen this book everywhere and all I know that it is about our main character Andie, who is a politician’s daughter who ends up having to walk dogs after something goes awry. So far I’m enjoying it, I really hope to hold on to that feeling because contemporaries are either a hit or miss for me.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff


I don’t think a day can go by without someone talking about this on Twitter. This has been one of my most anticipated books of the year since there was only a vague synopsis on the publisher’s website and I knew I had to have it. What’s interesting about this book is that it features a sixteen year old protagonist but the genre is categorized as adult.

Nevertheless, I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book. I am so grateful to have acquired a precious arc and cannot wait to devote my time to devouring this book. School of assassins, high fantasy, murder, talking cats, and three suns? Who could want more?

Kingdom of Ash and Briars by Hannah West


This is a book I definitely know I’m gonna get to in August. Can we just take a second to admire this cover. It’s absolutely stunning.

Kingdom of Ash and Briars is a book that I’ve been looking forward to for quite sometime and was more than pleased to acquire an arc. This book follows an orphaned kitchen maid, Bristal, who discovers that she is an elicromancer with a power for shape-shifting and soon finds herself using her powers in the midst of a supernatural war.

This book is said to homage Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Mulan, and Jane Austen’s Emma, which makes it all the more exciting. I cannot wait to be apart of the blog tour that is happening this September. It’s so rare of me to read standalone fantasy, so we’ll have to see where I stand.

Winter by Marissa Meyer


*hides in shame*

I can already feel the eyes of everyone on Twitter judging me because I still have not read this book. The Lunar Chronicles is one of my all time favorite series. Marissa Meyer is a queen at fairy-tale retellings. The characters are so diverse and witty and the plot is kickass and anxiety inducing. It’s been over a year since I’ve last read Cress and I acquired Winter  back in February and have yet to read the final installment.

I may just not want to feel the separation anxiety that is bound to happen once I’m done. Also can’t ignore the fact that I’ll be reading Winter in summer.

The Female of The Species by Mindy McGinnis


This is the final book I want to read this summer, but honestly this is the one I’m most unsure if I’ll get to in time. My main intrigue for reading this is that it’s by Mindy McGinnis, author of also A Madness So Discreet, which I thoroughly enjoyed. The Female of The Species centers around Alex Craft, who after seeing the murderer of her sister walk free, resorts to violence though it goes unpunished. She has resorted herself to the shadows in her school until she befriends a preacher’s daughter and the guy who played a vital role in the night her sister’s body was discovered. The three grow close until Alex’s darker nature breaks out, soon to change each other’s lives forever.

You honestly could not gleam anything of the Goodreads synopsis just by looking at the cover, but that is bound to make this book interesting.

 
What are some reads you’re looking forward to getting to this summer?

— Rebecca ☾

6 thoughts on “Summer TBR

  1. I remember reading NIGHT back in high school and really liking it. (You might also like the short story “This Way for the Gas, Ladies and Gentlemen” by Tadeusz Borowski.) WINTER is SO GOOD like OH MY GOSH. I was on edge the entire time while reading it. I’m looking forward to NEVERNIGHT–assassins! darkness!–and THE FEMALE OF THE SPECIES (which I’ve also heard is dark). Aaand I have yet to read a Morgan Matson book, whoops.

    Like

Leave a Reply

